higher price of petrol vs traffic and pollution; 'odd-even traffic restrictions'

TOPIC :

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing the traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

ANSWER

Currently, the growing traffic issues and pollution problems are severe in some big cities like Beijing and Shanghai. According to a survey, the average time length spent on the road to work has reached nearly three hours for an individual in Beijing. Therefore, the authority raises a lot measures to control the serious conditions, one of the methods is to improve the price of petrol. As far as I am concerned, there is little correlation between the pollution issues and the petrol consuming by normal citizens. Some other methods may work well.

It is no doubt that the rising price of gasoline has exerted some positive effects on the control of traffic problems. Increasing number of residents prefer to work by public transportation, considering that driving private cars induces a large financial output. At the same time ,the air is getting cleaner with less vehicles on roads. However, it is a problem for the employees whose houses are far from the working locations, because taking subways with a fixed line can be time wasting. They would prefer a private drive for convenience regardless of the spending on the gasoline. Look from this perspective, the rise of petrol cannot solve all the problems which we meet at present. Some comprehensive measurements should be implemented.

At present, the state implements some other measures to constrain the booming traffic, such as improving the identifying level of purchasing vehicles and odd-even traffic restrictions. In this way a large number of cars are limited to be driven on roads. The contamination problems get remission at the same time.

To sum up, the select of increasing the price of petrol has its advantages. But ,it is not the best way to reach a satisfied target. Some other measures like odd-even traffic restrictions should be implemented simultaneously.