With the higher use of TV and computers we are under some threats posed by a range of violent scenes

Violence in television and computer games has a damaging effect on the society.

What is your opinion?

With the ubiquitous use of television and computers nowadays, some people argue that our society is under potential threats posed by a wide range of violent scenes. Personally, I assume that the gratuitous scenes of violence may spark off some influences on children and teenagers, but not much on others.

Firstly, it is obvious that many movies and games portraying violence may put a detrimental effect on children. Repeatedly viewing those will blunt their emotional responses to violence and lead to aggressive attitudes in real life. However, most television programs are censored carefully before broadcasting, and the content that includes too many violent or unsuitable scenes will be considered. Except for the children, these factors do not have any serious consequences on adults. The aggressive behavior of a person depends mostly on his character, which is formed by the living environment, growing process and education. And the cruelty caused by games and television, I think, contributes little to our behavior.

In addition, violence in television or video games can create some positive influences. Many movies chart violence with an educational purpose, as in the end, the truculent villains will have to pay for their cruelty. In other words, this acts as an effective tool to impart the causal law in life. What is more, this kind of violent movies gives us a deeper insight into the villains. In many cases, they have such a tremendous and torturous past which punishing blows of life forced them to be cruel. Therefore, we are able to have a better understanding and sympathy with people through these movies.

All things considered, I subscribe to the idea that violence in television, movies or games does not carry substantial effect. Apart from some contents which should be labeled not for children due too its excessive violence, violence in those cases is not negative.