No hiring so no need to pay for maternity leave later on? Opinion essay.

Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Pregnancy Discrimination in the Workplace

A pregnant female could take at least 10 weeks as a leave with actual payment. Such phenomenon leads to some suggest that without hiring those young females in the first place, small firms could avoid paying the pregnancy leave in the future. In this essay, I completely disagree with the statement and will provide my reasons as follows.

One primary reason is that selectively recruit people out of unmarried females is a form of discrimination. In our modern society, males and females are equal in terms of seeking job positions. Females workplace skills and understandings are no less than men. When a company decides to choose a person simply based on their fertilities, it discriminates a large number of unmarried women. This inappropriate hiring process of a company might end up getting sued by many females eventually.

Moreover, avoiding to hire young females as employees is a big loss to a firm as many of them are intelligent. Nowadays, many independent women are very successful in their lives such as Saoirse Ronan and Jennifer Lawrence. Their dedications to work are determined and motivated. When firms concentrate on the issue of maternity leave as a reason to not hire young females, these companies are missing to see a bigger picture. As female contributions could be significant.

Finally, some laws protecting females from being sexist are existing. Take Poland for instance, a country is defined as an act of criminal when a firm hires a person is based on their genders rather than their educational backgrounds or work experiences. This law can definitely protect millions of women work opportunity. Especially to those women who have not had their own families yet.

To recapitulate, man and woman have the same values in looking for occupational roles regardless their genders. By discarding a large proportional group of young females, companies would lose some of the most potentially valuable assets of staffs. A perfect example is Poland, a nation that tends to protect women from workplace discrimination by imposing a law as a prevention.