IS HISTORY MORE CRUCIAL THAN SCIENTIFIC SUBJECT?

Q:

Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects.

Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Some people claim that history is one of the crucial subjects, whilst some people believe that history is not as vital as these other subjects like science and technology. To some extent, I am convinced that history is not only fundamental knowledge but also the moral basis for all students. By contrast, I do agree that science and technology subjects are important to the learners' development.

On the one hand, I believe that learning history will bring a lot of social benefits for students. That is to say, history helps students understand their origin, culture, and tradition. Therefore, this subject is a beneficial vehicle for helping them develop their appreciation for their country. As a result, history will build up the students' morality in the light of receiving their ancestors' elite.

On the other hand, science and technology would be beneficial for students if they learned and applied them to their future careers. In fact, technological development has opened up a new era that people just need to adopt into every aspect of their lives to help them finish. Hence, studying those subjects will open up the possibility of applying an ideal job for students' futures.

To sum up, in my view, I strongly agree that scientific subjects are vital in helping students have enough knowledge for their lives and future occupations. However, history should be acknowledged as a crucial and instrumental subject in developing and nurturing the students' consciousness and morality.