History leads us to the bright destination in the ocean of social development and revolution

TOPIC: ISSUE103 - "The study of history has value only to the extent that it is relevant to our daily lives."

here is my issue, please give me some advices, thx a lot

history

By using the word "only" the author's statement may be absolute to some extent since the study of history could be approached in many ways and be valued in many respects, which make the history studying has various values beyond our daily life.

To begin with, in this complicated world, there are many kinds of history and many ways to learn history. In scientific field, the history is the laboratory record, which scientists carefully analyse, when they design their further experiment. In business world, the history is the previous sales report, which the manages read, when they decide how to market new products. In hospital, the history is patients' medical journal, to which the doctors refer, when they diagnose their patients. These kinds of history study maybe not relevant to our daily live, yet, they still have great values beyond our daily life.

Move over, the history study could be valued in many respect which makes it valuable for many situations even though it is not relevant to our daily lives. The materials of history, written or unwritten, actually are carriers of our ancestor's wisdom and philosophy, and if we look behind the faces of these materials, we are able to find some of this wisdom and philosophy are permanently and universal. With modern technology, such as radios, the Internet, computers, etc. the leaders of military and business still read the ancient Chinese book "The Art of War" by Sun Tzu, who lived in his time when people battled with swords and spears. What make the book so popular is not the way in it about how to use cold weapons but the wisdom and philosophy of how to win a war. As a student majoring marketing, one of my curriculums are about the " The Art of War" in business world. The dean of my college told us " when you study the history with a more open mind, and find the true meaning of this book, you will find valuable guide lines for our study and work." As discussed above, the study of history show its various value in many respects even some of the materials are not relevant to our daily lives.

In sum, studying history is like looking back the road map which lead we human beings where we are and what we are today, more importantly, the ultimately goal of looking this map is to find a compass which could lead us to the bright destination in the ocean of social development and revolution. The study of history has every reasons to be valued highly whether it is relevant to daily life or not.

Actually, I an not sure about the meaning of "daily life" so I don't know how to present my idea probably.

If I illustrate that ecologist study the history of climate to know how to protect the environment in the future, I would state that this kind of history study may not be relevant to our life, but still has great value.

However, a voice in my mind told me, the environment is surely relevant to our daily life, because we all live one the Earth, so as the economy...

Would some one enlighten me, and give me a accurate definition of daily life?