IELTS TASK 2 : Hobbies need to be difficult?

Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

only challenging hobbies enjoyable?

It is commonly believed that hobbies are only enjoyable when they are challenging. Personally, I believe that both easy and difficult hobbies can be fun and therefore, I disagree with the statement.

On the one hand, it is true that difficult hobbies are sometimes more interesting. If an activity is challenging, people usually feel a great sense of satisfaction when they complete or achieve it. For example, when I started editing photos and videos, which is difficult, as a hobby, there were a lot for me to learn. After one year of self-studying, I became competent and now I enjoy it much more than when I started. In addition, since challenging activities are more difficult to master, it can keep people interested, stop them from dropping off and avoid boredom.

On the other hand, I believe that easy hobbies can be as enjoyable as difficult ones. Since one's hobbies depend on his own interest, many people can find an easy and simple activity, which does not require special skills, fun and regard it as their hobby. A good example for this is knitting. This hobby requires little materials and easy for everyone to learn but still enjoyable. Moreover, easy hobbies are usually less expensive than challenging ones; therefore, they often attract more people. This means that when people take up an easy hobby, they are likely to meet more friends who have similar interest, which can be enjoyable and pleasant.

In conclusion, I believe that both types of hobbies are interesting but in different ways.