IELTS Task 2. Less Homework Means Less Stress for Children

Nowadays, children have a lot of homework to do. Some people, however, believe that less homework means less stress for children, so they will be able to learn other useful skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

In order to attain the best learning output, teachers tend to give many treatments to their students. It includes giving as much homework as possible which is highly believed can enhance students' understanding on a material in one subject. However, there is a controversial view regarding to this condition. It is the general opinion which argues that the large amount of this task is highly potential to lead the increase of students' stress level. Thus, it should be limited in order to give them a chance for learning the other useful skills. Based on some reasons, I totally agree to this opinion.

To begin with, it is generally understood that children are in the age when they need much physical activities rather than to do something which requires think a lot. Receiving tasks excessively from school brings students into a zone where they do not have any chance to gather with their friends for playing, for instance. As the consequence, they immediately feel bored and it will lead them to be under pressure. This condition has a tremendous contribution to the increase of students' stress intensity.

Furthermore, it should be taken into account regarding the significance of learning other useful skills by a human in his or her early life. As a matter of fact, children age is the most appropriate time to learn particular skills they need for their daily life, e.g. cooking, driving, or sewing. However, it cannot be denied that this effort highly needs a special allocated time under purpose to intensify the learning process. Then, the time after backed from school is considered as the best opportunity for this. The challenge is the existence of high amount of homework as it limits, even removes, children's time for this.

In summary, students who are forced to deal with a high total of homework will make them stressful and be lost of chance to learn other important skills. So, it is highly suggested to the educators to limit the amount of that tasks in order to support children's other skills inquiry and development.