Honesty - one of the treasured values of human being

Honesty is one of the treasured values of human being. Living life honestly means opening oneself freely and exposing one's true self to others. Honesty is essential because it acts as the glue holding people together. Moreover, honesty helps a person to conquer problems and excel in his life. However, is this always right to tell truth?

First of all, honesty is the foundation upon which a person builds any relationship with his loved ones such as family or friends. By being honest to his loved ones, he will make them feel that they are trustworthy and closed enough for him to totally expose his true self. Thus, they are more assured that he values them and their relationship. The sweetness in the relationship, therefore, is more likely to remain. In contrast, a person will endanger his relationship with others even if he tells lies just for once. For example, a child tells his mother that he will go to the library to study. However, he ends up going to a friend's party and gets caught by his mother. It is understandable that after the incident, the mother will not trust her son as much as before and doubt what he says later. Thus, it may lead to unavoidable misunderstanding and argument. Eventually, the closed relationship might be threatened. Honest produces trust which is needed for a relationship to be sustained. It is inevitably that people have a tendency of relying on an honest person. Imagine who will trust a person who always deprived others of knowing the truth?

In addition, honesty helps a person to conquer problems and excel in life. It is essential for a person to be honest with himself. Only when a person plucks up the courage to face his inner values and emotion, can he get rid of the negative feelings which hold him back and as a result, find the confidence within. The confidence is what he needs in order to handle problems and perform well. Moreover, trust is produced by honesty. Without trust, a person has no credibility which is at the core of being able to influence others and provide strong leadership. It is equally hard for him to seek help from others when needed because others may not believe in whatever he says. In addition, it is said that "what goes around, come around." People that a dishonest person attracts turn out to be very similar to him. Thus, it is perhaps inevitable that the dishonest person may receive someone's dishonest actions or words some day. Therefore, in order to excel in life, it is likely that a person needs friends who trust him and help him to overcome challenges. It can only be achieved by demonstrating honesty to his friends and his fellow counterparts.

However, being brutally honest all of the time can also backfire on a person. There are situations when he inflicts a lot of pain and stress on somebody else by telling the truth. For example, a doctor may not decide to directly tell his patient that the patient suffers from cancer and can live for no longer than three more months. The doctor chooses to keep it a secret because knowing the truth may affect the patient's mental health severely. Therefore, it is comprehensive that a person needs not to be honest all the time. Sometimes, he needs to justify what is the best resolution because not telling the truth, in certain cases, is the best way to protect his loved ones from being hurt.

In conclusion, by living honestly and freely, a person will find that his life is more enriched and meaningful. Honesty helps a person to strengthen his relationship, conquer problems and excel in life. However, a person can choose to not telling the truth in order to protect his loved ones.