HOSTING INTERNATIONAL SPORTS EVENT - IELTS WRITING TASK 2

Topic: some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some think it is bad.

Discuss both views and state your opinion

Hosting an international sports event is considered advantageous to the hosting country by some, while for the others, the idea might be a detrimental one. There is, indeed, an enormous number of benefits hosting an international event involving sports can bring for a country. Nevertheless, everything comes with a price, and for many countries, responsibilities like this can prove to be a heavy burden.

Admittedly, having the honor to host a global sports event means various financial and political advantages for a country. First, the hosting country will attract more international investment even many years to come after the event. In detail, Its image can be abundantly raised and may even take the top spot in the local region as a promising country, consequently granting itself more investment. Second, other countries will seek to establish a companionship with the hosting country, thus giving its government more power and influence among the world leaders. A country with a respected position and others' support undoubtedly has every opportunity for consistent and rapid development.

However, hosting an event as such may be destructive to the country's economy. It is the extortionate cost and impracticality of organizing such an event that makes the idea a terrible one. In other words, the financial burden the country has to bear and what to do with the facilities invested after the end of the event can be a big issue for the country. Taking Brazil, for example, years after the world cup and the building of the grand Rio de Janeiro stadium, it is still trying to make up for all the money wasted in facilities and find a way to make use of the billion-dollar stadium, with its maintenance fees most likely being too high to retain and the current conditions of which too low to be up for rent.

All in all, though the chance to host a global sports event would bring lots of great benefits for the country, it is most advisable for countries without adequate financial background to forfeit any responsibility of hosting such events.