IELTS Task2. Is 24-hour television a good thing? Or it may bring some harm.

Q. In many countries, there are 24-hour TV programmes. Is it a positive or negative development?

Pros and cons of 24-hour TV programmes

Nowadays, 24-hour TV programmes have already become a part of our life all over the world, while a discussion has been ongoing regarding the advantages and disadvantages of this development. In this essay, I will elaborate the positive and negative influences which 24-hour TV programmes had on our lives.

There are certainly many positive impacts on our life after the introduction of 24-hour TV programmes. Firstly, as televisions are good tools for information spreading, there are so many TV programmes, such as news and weather forecast, aim to provide people useful information. Without these TV programmes, it would be extremely inconvenient for us to live. Next, governments can announce new policies through advertisement, which is a really efficient measure. By the same token, we can also acquire knowledge and some professional skills from several educational TV programmes, such as Discovery. And, of course, most of TV programmes are formed to amuse publics, in my view, it is really important for modern people. Last but not least, as the developing of 24-hour TV programmes, it provides tens thousands of job opportunities and boosts the economy.

By contrast, 24-hour TV programmes have affected our lives in a negative way for sure in many aspects. The crucial impact is on our health. I believe an increasing number of a sedentary lifestyle for the majority of people has something to do with the introduction of 24-hour TV programmes. People, in this day and age, tend to spend too much time sitting on a sofa and watching TV all day long. This phenomenon increases the risks of getting certain diseases, such as heart attack and obesity. Likewise, there are more and more inappropriate TV programmes for children. In order to raise income, so many unscrupulous TV companies seem to offer more exciting TV programmes which may include more violent and sexual scenes. This move might lead to wrong social values on children and create more turmoils.

To sum up, in every corner of this world, the development of 24-hour TV programmes has lots of positive and negative impacts on our lives, and I believe that my article provides vital facts of both sides.