Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences

Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government actions can solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing number of people migrating to big cities, the house shortage of metropolis has become a serious social problem. Some people suggest that the housing problem solely can be solved by the government. Personally, I totally agree with this claim as will now be discussed.

Undoubtedly, government has the ultimate decision on city planning. Government has the power to demolish old and dangerous buildings aiming to release more sites to construct residential buildings. The city council can also implement plans to develop surrounding regions of the big cities and encourage residents to move to those areas by offering them allowance.

Secondly, it is the responsibility of local authority to help its disadvantaged citizens and provide shelters for them. Disable people, low income families and single parents are struggled to afford commercial real estate. The government has a duty to ensure and maintain its residents a certain degree of living standard and welfare. Therefore, it is believed that government should providing aids to assist these people by providing them financial aids and public accommodations.

The market price of the house in most of the big cities has been manipulated by local and foreign investors which is evident by the dramatically rising in house prices. In consequence, more and more people cannot bear the costs of purchasing commercial houses and they shift to seek for public housing. However, this behaviour imposes a pressure to the supply of public housing. Therefore, governmental intervention in the market price should be in place in order to discourage investors from purchasing houses for non-residential purpose.

To conclude, accommodation is one of the fundamental desires of human beings. Government has an essential role to facilitate the searching of shelter of their citizens by alleviating the pressure of house shortage.