[IELTS] Housing shortage is the responsibility of the only government

Please help me! Thank you a million!

Topic: Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government actions can solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Stepping into the golden era of unbelievably outstanding achievements, the new 21st century has also witnessed the ever-changing blooming population which has coincided with the remarkable shrinking of housing areas. Be this as it may, the escalating housing shortage problem has greatly captured the public's attention, raising different arguments among people of concern whether governmental actions are the only solution to the issue. This essay endeavors to promptly give the ideas from both sides of the controversy.

The proponents firmly believe that only the regulators can address this problem thoroughly because all the subjects in a society, whether individuals or constitutions, must abide by legislation. Following this, as the"visible hand" theory of John Maynard Keynes, the government can take specific actions to preclude drastic housing shortage from turning to the worst situation. For instance, the government takes steps to ease burden on house builders by tax reduction, which includes encouraging the banks to increase lending for those who wish to buy home. Nevertheless, this may sporadically lead to prominent corollaries that can be obviously proved with "the US bubble crisis" occurring since 2008 and prolonging till now, which was deeply renowned with the incredibly economic devastating.

The opponents, however, stand at the other side of this debate. From the economic perspective, the market must be operated by its own principles; also it is a place where the supple meets the demand and the price is set up. Needless to say, housing market is no exception. Therefore, there is an absolute necessity for one to save money if they tend to possess a house. In terms of providers, they also attempt to set a reasonable price to meet the demand and to obtain business efficiency that ultimately aims to make handsome profits.

Based on the above discussion and analysis, I am strongly convinced that governmental actions are not the only solution to the housing shortage. To figure out this problem, both the government and all the other subjects in the society, whether civil area or business field, whether individuals or organizations, must shoulder their share of responsibilities to tackle issues.