IELTS Human's dependence in the modern world - about coherence, academic style

Some people think that in the modern world we have become more dependent on each other, while others think that people are now more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In the present day, whether human are independent or dependent on each other has sparked great concerns. Some people hold their view that they are increasingly dependent while others claim that they are becoming more and more self-reliant. My writing will critically analyze both sides of this issue based on some reasons below.

To begin with, it is natural human instinct for people to help each other so this characteristic should be harnessed for the betterment of mankind. Admittedly, a lot of people frankly express that they find the happiness and the feeling of being a good person in doing help for the others. In time of hardship and natural calamities like earthquakes and floods, people from different parts of the world pull together to ameliorate the problem. For example, a variety of countries worldwide donated and sent volunteers to remedy the disaster's consequences after the earthquake happened in Japan in 2011.

Additionally, a further more subtle point I take into consideration is that nowadays, as the world becomes smaller and smaller, it is important for different countries to live peacefully and work together. The dependence on trade, co-operation program, environment protection will probably foster the diplomatic relations and ease the international tension. Furthermore, In the globally strong integration, we should work together to share experiences and create network loops which effectively assists our careers.

Nevertheless, the negative side of the material life adversely affect people's lives, which leads them to live independently. Obviously, due to some advances in technology like smart phone, there are fewer face-to-face conversations and weekend gatherings with friends. Some people are busy with their own business and surrounded by modern devices such as calculators, PCs that causes the interaction lose with their colleagues. Another example for the independence in the fast-paced world can be seen in the nuclear family. Seldom we may see parent and their children sit together to enjoy a cozy dinner as they used to in the past. They live separately in their own room, doing private things. As a result, it will harm the family attachment.

In conclusion, each individual has his own viewpoint about human's dependence today and this matter is still open to debate. I personally incline to the notion that we are totally or at least partly reliant on each other