TOEFL-iBT Giving money as praise for children's high marks, good or bad?

Topic: Whether parents should give money to praise their child for high marks, you agree or disagree parents should give school-age children money for get a high mark(grade) they get in the school.

Answer:

Every parent always want their children succeed in their life; however, parents have to let their children succeed in school first. In order to let children focus on their study, parents have to use thousand ways to achieve it. But I'm so wondering that is money a good and effective way?

First, I think give money to praise children for high marks will let children focus on money too much. When I was a substitute teacher in elementary school, I saw a boy didn't want to do anything unless he can get some money from their parents or teacher. According that experience, I'm well aware of that money can't make a child good, but it can make a child addict in money at all. From then on, I began to remind parents as I can that not to take money for a tool of praise, otherwise children will take these money for granted.

For all that, I think children still need to get something they really want after excellent performance in school, but not money. Every children want to get some praises form their parents or teachers who are important in their mind. Even adults want to get their boss' praises about their work. Besides, praises can make children more self-confidence. I believe children who are more self-confidence will make more success not only in school, but also in their life.

To sum up, using money to praise children for their high marks is worse than better. Parents should be smart to use some appropriate words as praises to encourage children to focus on pursue their own succeed.