TOEFL IBT - Do televisions or movies infuence our behavior?

Never before have we experienced such an incredible growth of TV programs and movies. Introduced to public in 1925, the working television system only had few programs. However, nowadays, we can watch hundred of programs if we have cable TV and even more with a satellite one. And for movies, we now have various choices for blockbusters. Nevertheless, the more we spend time watching TV or movies the more our behaviors are influenced. When examining the following reasons, we will know how true this contention is.

First, people tend to repeat automatically what they always see, especially for children. It's very natural because we learned by repeating things we saw without understanding when we were young. This has become a part of our characters that we tend to unconsciously accept things repeated from times to times. For example, many violence cases took place because the criminals are obsessed with horror films and violent shows. In UK, the 15 years-old boy, named Daniel Bartlam, was sentenced to 16 after murder inspired by Coronation Street storyline. Prosecutors said that the boundaries between real life and fiction for Daniel had become "tragically blurred". Clearly, movies and televisions have influenced our behaviors.

Second, everyone enjoys the feeling of being honored, admired. Majority of people like to buy expensive things, which is considered to enhance their status in society. Thus, billions dollar were spent by advertisers to create the ideal model of wealth, fame on the TV programs and movies. This will motivate people to spend more money on luxury things to satisfy the need of being important and respected. In 1983, Ray-Ban Wayfarer's sunglasses were saved from extinction thanks to the comedy film Risky Business. The main character Joel (Tom Cruise) wore Ray-Ban sunglasses in this film, which became so popular later and as a result that 360,000 pairs were sold that year.

Third, more time spent on watching TV and movies will cause more changes to people eating habit. Those who are TV addicted spend less time preparing for meals; instead, they tend to eat fast food. This eating habit tend to make people become couch-potatoes, which increases higher risk to heart attack, high blood pressure, diabetes, etc. Surveys has showed that fast pace of life and addiction to TV are the 2 most common causes which change people eating habit.

To sum up, everything has two sides. If we cannot control the TV programs or movies, we can control ourselves. Let our technology makes our life better not worse.

Note: Please leave your advice here. Every comment is appreciated :-)