[iels task 2]The government spends about 220 million pounds a year supporting museums

Task: Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The government spends about 220 million pounds a year supporting museums and galleries in UK, and a similar amount subsidising the visual and performing arts.

This is a huge sum to spend on minority interests, and the money would be better spent on more important things. it should be up to the people who enjoy cultural attractions to pay for them.

What are your views?

The UK government spends a significant amount to support museums, galleries, the visual and performing arts annually. It was proposed that the investment cost in this art field is unnecessary to be substantially and it will be better if it is used for service of society or infrastructure. But in comparison with the benefit and the vital role in maintaining and preserving historical and art values of this art field, it is totally deserve to have this investment.

First of all, spending this amount will get advantages by raise the number of tourist. Prestige art museums and galleries are the most interesting tourist destinations. For instance, according to UK National Administration of Tourism, museums and art galleries of UK return yield about 1 billion pound in the year 2009. In addition, the volume of tourist visit cultural organizations make up a third of 30 million foreign visitors ( follow VitsitBritain).In summary, raising the number of tourists is valuable for the UK economy and the investment for museums, galleries, visual and performing arts is necessary.

Secondly, this art field holds an important role in maintaining and preserving historical and art values. Evidently, museums and galleries are responsible for historical relic containment, maintenance and exhibitions. Many beauties of culture and art have published by theaters. Furthermore, history and art are essential in mental and personal development so that there are subjects in education. Therefore, museums and galleries are also important in education aspect.

Nevertheless, there are many problems that need investment from government in UK, such as healthcare, education, infrastructure, etc...But there are many conclusion to cope this dilemma. For example, the government can consider to reduce the investment in useless or abandon constructions.

All in all, I think museums, galleries, visual and performing arts art deserve to have this amount of investment .

Total 302 words.