IELST Task 2: Should people be exempted from taxes?

People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely accepted that all citizens have the duty of paying tax to the authorities. However, some people are of the idea that they should be exempted from taxes and earn the right to all their money. Personally I think paying tax is obligatory to every individual.

Basically, the idea of a tax-free country has drawn the interest of few people. First of all, citizens think keeping the money they earned helps improve their life conditions. In other words, the money exempted from tax is useful for upgrading one's house, buying new clothes for kids or having more food for the meals. Another reason is that they do not believe that the tax is spent on appropriate reasons. As an example, the American went string back and asked the money back when the government spent a great deal of the budget on the Iraq war. Hence, keeping the money comes as a safe choice for many people.

On the other hand, others agree that it is everyone's responsibility to pay tax. This is because tax enable the government to process plans and policies that help develop the country. To illustrate, the budgets of national army and governmental system come from tax and these public services are provided to the people. Moreover, paying tax raises the awareness of one's responsibility for the nation. They will be proud if they realize that they are valuable citizens who contribute to the country's development. Finally, tax is considered as a governmental control of the nation's economy. To paraphrase, it helps prevent illegal business links between parties and set the standards for all transactions.

On the whole, I hold the idea that all people are responsible for paying tax to the authorities. To meet with the contrast opinions, the government needs more instructive guides and appropriate policies of the spending that comes from tax. In the mean time, people should aware the merits of a country's contributor.