IELT essay - causes and solutions for poor work-life balance

Could you please help review my practice. thanks.

Basically, I believe the increasing competition in today's world is responsible for the poor work-life balance of the working class.

First of all, the rising unemployment rate has made acquiring a job rather difficult in recent years. As a result, job security becomes a priority for those in work. This means employees are, in effect, in a disadvantaged position when they are in conflict with their employers, and have to accept any workload assigned to them or they could easily be replaced by another equally skilled person who is eagerly waiting to be employed. Indeed, it is not uncommon for workers to be asked to work overtime but without being adequately payed and without any complaint expressed.

Similarly, the life of employers is not easier. In the midst of the economic recession, they are faced with as fierce competition among competitors in order to survive. Reducing the operational cost would then be of equal importance to them as promoting product sales and qualities. Consequently, they may be forced to cut staff, though the amount of work to be done may keep unchanged.

All these can explain why people have been diverting increasing amount of their time from family to the workplace. Unfortunately, there seems to be no easy solution to this problem as the root cause, the competition, is unavoidable; but there do exist ways to improve the situation, to a more or less degree. Even though working hours cannot be reduced, for example, allowing employees to work flexitime or telecommute can offer them more flexibility while still maintain their productivity. Also, efficiency and innovation -- key factors to the business success of a company -- can be encouraged among the staff if the working environment is comforting and the management lenient, thereby leaving them more time for leisure.

Overall, it is true that the present hardship of the global economy needs individuals as well as companies to fight against; however, clever management can be more desirable than merely enforcing lengthy working hours, for the sake of a better life for employees and employers.