IELT WRITING TASK 2: competition for university

Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university.

Is this a positive or negative development?

As university admission becomes increasingly competitive, opinions are divided whether this trend yields positive or negative consequences. From my point of view, competition is positive in this case in spite of the increased emotional burden and weakened relationships it engenders.

One of the primary drawbacks of growing university competition is the mounting pressure it places on students. Intense competition often causes heightened stress levels, anxiety, and mental health problems. When the rate of enrollment decreases, many students experience overwhelming pressure to outshine their peers. To get a slot in university, countless students have to burn the candle at both ends, which often leads to sleep depression and enhances their level of stress. Consequently, this negative impact on mental health can hinder students' overall development and well-rounded growth. Furthermore, when they spend all their time studying, their relationships may be weakened because of lack of time to bond.

On the other hand, intense competition can also serve as a driving force that encourages students to strive for excellence and unleash their full potential. When faced with a highly cutthroat competition, students are motivated to become more concentrated, disciplined, and target-driven. They are then more likely to develop a strong work ethic, perseverance, and resilience, which are essential qualities for success in various aspects of life. From the government's perspective, this trend may contribute to the flourishing of these countries. When the quality of workforce is reinforced, the countries can intensify heavy industry which brings a large profit.

In conclusion, although escalating competition for university admission increases stress levels among students and decreases their relationships, it fosters personal growth and prosperity for the countries. Individuals must learn methods to manage their anxiety and allocate their time budget as these skills will prepare them for greater achievement later in life as well.