IELT T2- Punishments are neccessary to help children learn the right and wrong from early age

It is important for children to learn the right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

punishment as a learning tool?

It is very beneficial for children to develop the ability to distinguish between right and wrong at an early age, and parents and teachers can use punishments as a tool to help in this learning process. I agree with this idea but only to some certain kinds of punishments.

In the early stage, if a child is able to differentiate between right and wrong, there are better chances for the child to become a well-behaved member of the society. And since children are innocent, they don't have a clear conscience about abstract concepts like right and wrong, however, they know what is comfortable for them and what is not. From there, children will gradually get the idea about what they should and should not do if they want it to be pleasant. Therefore, parents and teachers can use punishments to help children develop the right behaviors. Punishments can just be as simple as taking away the favorite toys, or detention or time-out technique. Another important factor is the right moment, the punishment should be imposed right away if children commit the wrong behavior, so they know why and what they are being punished for and they will remember it.

Punishments are helpful if parents and teachers use them properly, however children are very volatile, we adults should always remember that punishments are used to help children to learn and not to punish them in any way. If punishments are abused, it can be backfired and results in a destructive consequence for the child. And in some situations, children will carry those wounds with them in the life ahead. Thus parents and teachers should always remember to treat children with care and a good heart.

To sum up, I think it is useful for the child if they can develop a good notion towards the right and the wrong at an early age. Parents and teachers can use punishments to help children learn those concepts and develop the good manner in them. However, punishments should not harm the child in any mentally or physically way. Children need to be treated with good hearts, always.