IELTS_ Why little has been done to prevent animals and plants from dying out?

Topic: Little has been done to prevent animals and plants from dying out, although people have been aware of this problem for a long time. why have people done so little about it? how can we solve this peoblem.

There is a widely held perception in many parts of the world today that biological diversity is in decline. Oddly, though, very few actions have been taken by people to stem this tide. In this essay, I intend to explore the sources of this vicious circle along with some viable solutions to it.

Clearly, the most serious problem problems of endangered species extinction are often felt in rural areas. As a result of over cultivation & deforestation, natural habitats for plants and animals are increasingly axed. Little wonder, they become dying out. Moreover, some famer still hunt endangered animals for money (e.g. selling their fur, organs, bones etc.). Ironically, on one hand, people criticize poor farmers' illicit behaviors. On the other hand, they aspire things like shark fins, ivories. In addition, many endangered species seriously serve no useful purpose to human beings, thus some people simply do not believe we need to protect them.

In order to save endangered species from extinction, I believe we must first address its root causes. Perhaps the most effective method of doing this would be for government to provide financial incentives to rural dwellers, who willingly sacrifice certain farmlands and converting them to suitable habitats for plants and animals. Admittedly, such incentives would probably not fully compensate farmers for the lose income. However, this would at least soften the hardship of living in a shrunken land resources. One further measure would to promote educational campaigns warning people about the seriousness of the reducing biological diversity.

In reality, of course, the challenges that presented in saving endangered species are numerous and complex. Although they are by no means insurmountable, it is highly unlikely that they will be reserved in the foreseeable future.