[IETLS ACADEMIC - WRITING TASK 2] MOBILE PHONE - ANTISOCIAL INVENTION?

Cell Phone Essay

The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the use of technological devices, especially mobile phone has gained in popularity day by day, which is making significant changes in the lifestyle of humans. It is sometimes claimed that like smoking, mobile phone is antisocial so that it should be banned in certain places. While I agree that the use of mobile phones has some harmful effects, I am also for the idea that it is unnecessary to prohibit mobile phones.

On the one hand, I think that mobile phones can be antisocial in some ways. In my opinion, mobile phones may disturb people in some public locations such as schools or hospitals due to their boisterous sounds when receiving a phone call. Besides, the use of mobile phones can also fracture the relationship among people. For example, nowadays, individuals have a tendency to spend most of their time concentrating on a huge number of applications like Instagram, Twitter or Facebook. Therefore, they rarely hang out with friends and even focus on virtual world than interacting with people in real life, which widen gap between people.

On the other hand, I also believe that the prohibition of mobile phones is inessential because of several reasons. Firstly, it is obvious that mobile devices are not as harmful as smoking since smoking contains a great deal of chemical compounds which are extremely dangerous and can exercise influence on humans' health. Secondly, it cannot denied the outweigh advantages of mobile devices which is that they not only are the fastest, most convenient ways for people to keep in touch with each other but also can make the life easier. For instance, through the navigation system in mobile phone, users can reach their destination quickly instead of using a map. This is absolutely more time-consuming than in the past.

In conclusion, although I agree that mobile phone somehow can against social norms due to its disturbance and the ability of lessening face-to-face communications, I strongly support the opinion of not banning mobile devices because of their outweigh advantages to human.