[IETLS] TV advertising is bad - Agree or Disagree?

Advertisements plays a major role on TV in market economies. Despite the benefits of such information, many people criticize the role of TV advertising. To what extend do you agree or disagree with their view?

In contemporary economy system, television advertising plays an essential role in providing information and promoting products. Even though it does carry some adverse effects, simply criticizing TV advertisement cannot be justified.

It is manifest TV advertising has some negative impacts on both businesses and individuals. Firstly, the most obvious disadvantage is the high cost involvement. Since advertisements are required to be repeated several times to attract the attention of the target market, it inevitably includes a high cost to air on television channels, which is not affordable for some small businesses. Secondly, the majority of advertisements on TV only last a few seconds thereby not being effective on conveying information about products. Therefore , it would not appeal to consumer and induce them to buy goods.

On the other hand, the enjoyment of watching TV could be seriously interrupted and spoiled due to the increasing number of advertisements. As a consequence, people have to cope with the constant distraction from programs.

Clearly, however, TV advertisements present a number of advantages. In the first place, they communicate products to a large number of people, who could be turned into potential consumers, in a short span of time. in terms of products sales, it may leads to an increase of purchasing products. Correspondingly, television advertisements help to keep the price of consumer goods down. In the second place, advertising industry is an essential source of employment.

In summary, it is highly unlikely to avoid advertisements being an effective marking strategy on television. But at least limiting the length of advertisement and improving the consistency of TV programs can be done.