IETLS; Discuss your views on - Born talents Vs Acquiring talents

ESSAY: It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your personal opinion.

A talent is an exceptional quality that makes us special, new and different. That is why a lot of people ask themselves about the origins and causes of a talent, trying to give a valid explanation to a uniqueness that seems to come out of nowhere. In particular, it is often argued whether a talent is an inborn capacity or a skill you develop through experience and learning.

On the one hand, someone may demonstrate that you are not responsible of the talent you have by showing how many singers, doctors, lawyers and so on, come, in the majority of cases, from a family employed in the same professional area. It seems like once you have some relatives specializing in a certain job or passion, it is more likely for you to develop an interest for that kind of skill.

On the other hand, it could be stated that even though you may be naturally keen on a certain ability, some kind of effort is always necessary to improve your natural predisposition and that an innate capacity is not always accompanied by a sincere ambition. On the contrary, most people agree that if someone close to you is specialized in a particular area, you will probably leave the competition spirit apart and choose a whole different subject. As a consequence, everyone can be taught and educated to sharpen any quality they want.

As far as I am concerned, whenever someone shows a peculiarity, there is a combination of two factors: one is a result of an inborn predisposition and the other is the personal work that leads you to achieve the high levels you aim for. Education and training, in fact, can bring about more efficient results if supported by genuine passion.

To sum up, I agree that talents are natural qualities but they find their expression only through hard work and sacrifice.