IETLS Task 2_ Pollution and environment damage result from developing and making the country richer.

technological progress and environmental pollution

Pollution and environment damage result from developing and making the country richer. Are you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues are now becoming global concerns. Some people believe that the process of growing into a richer country causes pollution and environmental problems. However, I am of the opinion that the main reason of these troubles are related to the individuals' behaviour and government regulations.

It is a fallacy to consider environmental degradation as the result of making the country richer. Advocates of such a perception tend to claim that the massive production activities of industrial zones dispose a tremendous amount of toxic and hazardous chemical wastes into the environment, which seriously pollutes water, soil and air in the surrounding areas. They get a mind thought that only toxic chemical waste or exhaust fumes discharging from the factories would damage the environment. Nonetheless, in fact, these stuffs though have an impact on environment, only happening in undeveloped and developing countries. Take the United States as a typical example, although there are many industrial regions, the government of this country, they are, in fact, quite successful in coping with the issues related to the environment from these parks.

In my point of view, I believe that pollution and environmental problems are the consequences of human behaviour and government rules. First and foremost, it is because of the individuals' action. People have a lack of the awareness of protecting the environment, they do not understand the indispensable relationship between the human beings and the world surroundings. They throw rubbishes all over the place, into the land, the water. They have a deep-rooted practice of using their private cars and motorbikes for the convenience. Secondly, the governments do not promulgate the strict laws as well as improving the public transportation infrastructures to encourage their citizens to use. Besides, almost every country hesitate to invest immensely in renewable sources, this makes the cost of these types of power in the high level for people to use.

In conclusion, environment pollution could not be considered as the result from increasing the country's economy since other actions are likely to be much more terrible impacts for the environment.