IETLS Task2: The power of advertising, and its influence on consumer buying - agree or disagree

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Role of Advertising in Consumer Decision

It is true that many people who were influenced by advertising by companies to buy their products. I partially agree that some people would make a purchase because of advertisements, but there are still some people make decisions depending on their real needs.

Advertising is a good way to promote a new product and it has some influences on people's buying behaviour. In most of the dramas, some products are always shown in the specific plot and also the main roles introduce the function of products in order to catch the audience's attention. Such kind of marketing method is called product placement, which can persuade people to make orders. Smartphone, for example, is usually used to demonstrate its new function in dramas, so audiences easily get a good impression on it. The possibility for people to buy the products is therefore increasing.

However, most people make purchases because of their real needs. While advertising could leave a good impression of products to people, they would think about the necessity of buying goods according to their income. Costumers would be impossible to buy products that they can not affordable on the ground that it may lead them to overdrafts. Some people, for an instance, who are indulged in buying designer labels, are not able to pat bill all a time. Once the new products hit them, they make orders without considering how much their income is. Therefore, they gradually have to pay lots of bills but could not pay it all in time. Finally, they become bankrupt and no one can help them.

In conclusion, while advertising has some impacts on people's buying behaviour, they would still make a decision depended on their real needs.