IETLS writing practice: university education-preparation for employment or knowledge?

In the 21st century, people of all nations share one dream: better economy, better life. Hunting for a good job becomes essential for every individual, regardless of age and race. After all, it guarantees better material life. Even university education is affected by the increasing trend. There is a heat debate over whether colleges should aim for cultivate students suitable for future jobs or enhance students' theoretical knowledge. Regarding this controversial question, I firmly believe that colleges should first and foremost focus on theoretical knowledge and then provide students with some training for employment.

As we all know, university is different from a company, the purpose of which is visible interest. University education is aimed at nurturing good citizens who can not only be competent enough to do a job, but also contribute to the society integrity and honesty. Therefore, this primary goal of cultivating good citizens should be emphasized. Furthermore, what colleges are rich with excellent teaching staff and learning facilities from which students can benefit a lot, hence they afford a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for most students to dig into theoretical knowledge that may be critical for their future employment.

There is also no denying that university education, if tailored according to the needs of society, can also contribute to students' employment to some extent. After all, the competition is increasingly stiff in the job market. However, we should not put the cart before the horse. Students ought to first learn morality and then skills.

To summarize, university education should help students acquire theoretical knowledge mainly because the fundamental function of universities lies in nurturing good qualities through theoretical knowledge.