IETLS: Violence on TV and in games impact negatively on people's manners (Opinion essay)

Violence on TV and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society

There is currently a contentious argument over whether playing games on the computer and watching television containing violent scenes negatively impact on people's manners. From my point of view, I totally agree with this opinion because it makes harmful images and leads to problem behavior in our society.

The main reason why I believe violence is definitely harmful to everyone is that it forms a detrimental environment for those exposed to these entertainments, especially for children and teenagers. TVs and computers are undeniably popular with almost every family so any kind of violence will be instantly and widely updated if it is released. For instance, children accidentally see violence on TV and it could be a haunting memory for them when it is off the top of their head.

Another reason I support this notion is that it causes people to misunderstand the violence which is supposed to be in the ordinary way. They manifest violence via actions and perceptions. For example, they are more likely to use their fists as they get into arguments such as rows, fights,... It is also possible that they have violent thoughts which intensely threaten the standard of acceptable behavior in society.

To sum up, I completely agree that violent games and TV programs have injurious effects on individuals, even on society. Given this situation, it seems that not only should the government has more strict regulations about violence in social media but also each person needs to raise awareness in selecting the form of entertainment more healthily and safely.