IGCSE ; Comparitive Essay ( Big Supermarket Vs Local Shops)

I am appearing for English as a second language course in IGCSE this October.

The purpose of the writing is :

A big international supermarket chain is planning to build a new store not far from where you

live. Write an article for the local newspaper giving your opinion of the plan

Big Supermarket Vs Local Shops

The recent way of living always demands for convenient to make our lifestyle much easier. As a result, the government has set up a great and large

supermarket just few meters away from our neighborhood. However, the real question is, how would this International Business affect the local shops

located inside the neighborhood?

In ancient days, shopping was scheduled on weekly basis that made some time restrictions for people. However, with a 24/7 operating supermarket, some people

began to buy their groceries at midnight i order to save time. In addition, you can find variety of brands for a single product, this brings up a range of choices for customers

with different desires. Besides, you always find that the products prices are often competitive which leads to more attraction of customers shopping for their needs in one

place rather than roaming around the local shops in the town looking for each good you want to buy.

Despite the great service offered by supermarkets for an individual customer, local shop keepers will become negatively affected. they will tend to increase the price of their

products due to the decrease of the customers coming to their shops. As a result, the economical situation of them will drop down in which they end up closing their shops down.

Moreover, the supermarket lacks personal attention, you don't find a friendly staff who know you and your grocery choices just like in a local shop. And although a big supermarket posses

a large premise, the crowds and traffic congestion will make the area very noisy and this could lead to a shortage of parking spaces which will make it difficult for customers to go to the supermarket.

In conclusion, big supermarkets are integral part of modern-life. However, local shops will always be valued as an appreciated asset in a neighborhood. They represent the atmosphere

and the energy of a neighborhood. And since not all your fingers are same, people are divided between being a supermarket shopper or local shop shopper.