Igcse English as a second language (0511) article writing

exploring space and government funds

Question: give your views on whether the government should spend money on exploring space, by writing an article. The word limit is 210 words

I got this question from exercise 7 of paper 2 variant 1 of summer 2017 igcse English as a second language (0511).

The article: (224 words)

A wise use of the economy consists of investing in practical long term and short term projects. Although investing in space exploration may help solve some environmental issues, it will ultimately do more harm than good. This is because of factors such as the amount of focus the project would require and its impracticality.

Renowned economist Richard Ludwig, once said 'Public facilities are the culmination of the trust between the government and the people!' Public opinion is shaped and sculpted by the services available to them and good facilities are like sharp knives, carving out a relationship between government and public, one that is strong and sturdy. Therefore investing in space exploration will do more harm than good as it will lead to less funding of public facilities.

A Vision is a double-edged sword, it can truly make or break a project. In the current governments case, this vision will break the project. As both the cause and the goals set out are impractical, and when this is the case, failure is inevitable.

On the other hand, exploration may help solve such environmental problems as global warming. This would be a direct result of having lifted the burdens of industry on earth and having placed them on another planet.

In conclusion, space exploration isn't beneficial as it comes with the consequences of losing trust and almost inevitable failure.