ILETS: Should Crime be penalized with fixed or variable sentences ?

Should crime be penalized with fixed or variable sentences keeping all the facts under consideration ? People differ in their views. Please discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been observed that crime rate is on rise unprecedentedly. Each unlawful activity is unique in its nature and context. Community differ in its opinion how legislation should be enforced in sentencing the offenders. One view favors standard punishment for everyone who break a certain law. Others contend to consider all details including motives before sentencing the felons. As both point of view have merits, I would discuss them individually before stating my position.

Historically, judicial system has set a unchangeable penalty for individual criminal acts regardless of the situation of their occurrence. It makes legal matters to resolve smoothly without undue delay and injustice. Furthermore, these fixed sentences convey a strong message to all potential lawbreaker that they would be prosecuted without any leniency.For example, capital punishment is for everyone who is guilty of murdering other humankind. So, previously defined penalization ensure unbiased trial for all criminals regardless of their intentions.

Some people are convinced that folks are involved in lawless acts for diverse reasons. Many become culprit unintentionally just to survive. Sometimes, financially handicapped personnel steal food from grocery store as a last resort. Some others are forced to disrupt peace over life threats or misguided information. Individuals with this view maintain that legal system should consider all the circumstances surrounding each lawlessness and disciplined accordingly.

Judiciary should review each wrongful activity keeping all facts that lead to this illegitimate act under consideration before sentencing per my view. It does not make sense to prosecute with equal penalty and fine a thief who takes food unlawfully from a food chain to feed his or her hungry children and a burglar who steal jewelery form a business.It would be unfair to send them in a prison with the same jail terms.

To summarize, community is spilt on formulating laws for illegals whether to punish them equally or appropriately considering all related situations and intentions. I believe legislation should be focused on individual context not predetermined penalty for a crime.