ILETS Essay. Mass communication and transport continue to grow.

As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalisation will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Globilization means that people around the world tend to have similar living lifestyles. It is undeniable that with the advancemnet in technology and vast communication, people are coming more and more closer, thus they are mre likely to exchange the living styles. However, I do not agree with this idea that this global attachment has lost the norms as I think cultural heritage is not so weak to be dissappeared by globilization.

First of all, there is vast difference between globlization and cultural heritage. No doubt, latest invention of technology like electronic gadgets has reduced the communication gap. By watching television people can easily get information about other country. However, this recent technology has not affected the cultural heritage of nation. For example, people in Tokyo and London look and dress same but it does not mean their culltural lifestyle are similar. Evaluating culture on apparel is a very narrow definition of culture. Cultural values are inhertied since birth so by watching electrinic media people will not forget their traditional norms and values.

Secondly, another most important aspect that binds the cultural heritage is practicing the different relegion practices. Every country has its own methods of praying. With the ease of tranporation methods, people can esaily travel onto firrent countrties. By exploring other countries, people wll not forget their own religion practices. This is evident that profound number of Indian have moved to european countries but this does mean they will not celebrate their own festivals apart from christmas. Another significant value that creats a bond among cultural value is Wedding. Every religion has its own way of celebrating wedding so it is evdient that cultural inhertigae is inbuilt and cannot be influned by globilzation.

In conclusion, it is proved that cultural hertiage is strong norm thus can not vanished with the advent of latest technology. With the globilzation, people can more likely to exchnage their lifestyle but it has less impact on reforming one's culture.

Culture is built on strong foundation so it is highly unlikely to extract the roots from the grass.