[ILETS TASK 2] Some people believe that tourism does more harm than good. Agree or disagree?

trade-off between tourism pros and cons

Service industries such as tourism have become more developing in the modern life nowadays. This engenders the controversy about the pros and cons of tourism. Some people hold the notion that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. From my point of view, i do not entirely agree with the given notion.

It can be denied that there are uncounted benefits taken from travelling for both the travellers and the government. One of the crucial benefits is that people will have great opportunities to broaden their culture and social horizons when they are on a trip to new locations. For instance, the visitors can interact with ingenious residents and be introduced to interesting natural charm such as cuisine, amusement, fashion,... Also, the government of visited region can make a profit and get investment as well to ameliorate infrastructure. These innovations will not only serve tourists but also native people. As a result, tourists enjoy their vacation with great experiences and the local people as well as the government have a chance to stimulate the economic growth rate.

However, there are some drawbacks of tourism need to be paid attention. The influx of travellers into an area can disturb the life pattern of the indigenous and cause several social troubles. Indeed, because the local government are not able to control a large number of tourists, they can encounter potentially higher incidences of crimes and anti social activities. Problems such as pickpocketing, mugging, sex-related crimes likely occur in those countries featuring flourishing tourism. In addition, environmental pollution and vandalism are the tenacious problems as the historical sites are full of unaware visitors. This leads to the possibility that the government may pay a large money to mend their loss.

To conclude, i believe there is a trade-off between tourist advantages and disadvantages. And i think that people consciousness of tourism plays a central role in deciding whether tourism does more harm than good or on the contrary.