Immigrants should abandon their own ways and adapt to local customs?

Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should to abandon their own ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behaviour.

Do you agree or disagree?

There are a variety of different opinions on whether or not immigrants should change their behaviour to fit in their new country. Although some people would no doubt disagree, I personally believe that newcomers should indeed try to adapt. In my view, this means following both the written laws and social customs of their adopted country. There are two primary reasons for this.

First, it is obvious that society would not function properly if newcomers did not obey the laws. One particular good example of this is road rules. Imagine what would happen if people refused to drive on the same side of the road. Thus, it is nescessary for immigrants to make sure that they obey the law in their new country even if laws in their home country are different. Two other examples of things which are allowed in some countries but illegal in others are owning a gun and gambling.

Second, it is important to remember that societies are built on shared values. The social rules of a country are the glue that keeps it together, so new immigrants must respect them. Certainly, having many different cultures makes a country more interesting; however, I would argue that too much difference weakens a society by making people feel that they do not belong there. I believe that similarities between people bring them together, while their differences pull them apart. A healthy society is a society with strong sense of unity.

In conclusion, I once again restate my view that new immigrants to a country must try to adapt to local rules of behaviour. As the old saying goes: "when in Rome, do as the Romans do"