Short essay on immigration (IELTS task 2)

Immigration has a major impact on the society.

What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

Write at least 250 words.

Naturally, human beings were born nomadic. Proofs are throughout our history, a large number of migrations of different ethnicities to various parts of the globe had been discovered and scientifically proved by fossils remained in the soil. 21st century, too, witnessed a massive wave of human's migration. However, the reasons accounted for this phenomenon can be different than in the past and going hand in hand with it is the corresponding consequences exerted on our world.

First and foremost, it is no doubt that wars are the main reason for modern immigration. Over the past few years, Middle Eastern countries have been undergoing bloody conflicts, namely civil wars, foreign interventions, and even terrorism. These wars led to a tragic situation that many people' fatherlands became no longer habitable for them due to the fear of getting killed anytime. Many hospitals and schools are blocked and discontinued due to wars, which is a serious issue because education and proper healthcare are human's basic needs. As a result of which, people have no choice but to seek asylums in safer neighbouring countries.

Secondly, people from less developed nations also seek immigration opportunities to wealthy countries in search of better lives. In this age of globalization, news and information about the world are accessible to anyone through portrays of media such as television, newspaper and especially internet. Therefore, people from poor countries can be aware of their own countries' inadequate social welfare system or corruption, which leads to their attempts to seek better lives in richer countries.

Undoubtedly, taking a large number of migrants at once can be a heavy burden for any nation in the world. For example, Turkey currently ranks the first in the list of countries bearing the most immigrants due to its adjacent locations to Middle Eastern countries' warzones. Meanwhile, Turkey also has its own problems such as instabilities, social welfare, and unemployment. Thus, taking care of millions of immigrants can be extremely tough and can harm the country's economy as well as safety. A tremendous amount of money must be spent on the settlements of the immigrants and even bigger amount of money is required to sustain their lives, which puts a burden on the host country's economy. Furthermore, surveillance on immigrants can be a challenging task because of the overwhelming number of people as well as vagueness in their identities. Hence, social evils such as thefts, violence or even terrorism can have more chances to spring up.

To sum up, immigration stems from two main reasons, namely war and people seeking better lives. In some cases, immigration is inevitable because of life-or-death situations of immigrants. So other countries offer to share the responsibility of taking in immigrants taking in the risk that this can also cause many troubles to the host nations in terms of economic burden and safety.