IELTS Essay: Impact of computer usage on children.

Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computer has become a part of almost everyone's life. It has been in discussion for a long time that whether it is good or bad for children. I believe that its virtues are far more than its vices. In the following paragraphs I will provide some reasons to support my statement.

The principal reason for considering computers for children in their everyday life is its usefulness in learning new things. There are many software that make difficult concepts of hard and dry subjects easy to absorb. For example, Algebra and Geometry are the two important and toughest concepts of mathematics but the intuitive nature of some good software makes it easy to learn for children. Moreover, the learning is very fast with computers and a child's mind adopts it quickly. To learn new things computers can help a child in various ways.

Another reason for promoting computer usage in children is that they do not feel any need to remain out of their homes for playing. For the countries where there are proper places for children games may this reason not be very effective but for others like Bangladesh, Pakistan and India etc. the computer games are really helpful. These games keep the children at home and a child remains safe from the vulnerabilities such as drugs, crimes and bad company. Undoubtedly, computers are a blessing for such an environment.

In conclusion, after analysing computer's usefulness in learning and giving an healthy environment I disagree that computers have more bad effects on children than that of good effects.

_________________________

Hi,

Kindly review my essay and please suggest me any important advice you consider for my writing. I've my exam in a couple of weeks and I am targeting band 8.