IELTS TASK2: THE IMPACT OF THE INTERNET, POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE? Communication and quick information.

the evolution of communication and information searching methods

The internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades. Although some of these changes have been negative, the overall effect of this technology has been positive. What are your opinion on this?

As technology has become well-developed, the internet has brought numerous convenience to our lives. Although some people argue that these alterations will have detrimental effects, I believe that the benefits of such invention far outweigh its drawbacks. In this essay, there are two main reasons that I will explain why I think this way.

One advantage is that internet has revolutionised the way of communication. In the past, mail deliveries needed to rely on postmen and citizens had to wait for a couple of days before receiving mails, not to mention the messages sent from abroad. In modern times, however, with various online chat applications (such as WhatsApp, Line, etc.) being developed, residents are available to communicate immediately. In addition, internet has diminished the impact of geographical distance. This significantly helps people who suffer from long-distance relationships to keep their updates and feel a sense of affection without any delays through either online messages or video chats.

Obtaining a vast amount of information within few minutes is another benefit of the internet. Hundreds of thousands online resources can be easily assessed at a click of a button rather than wasting a substantial period of time on searching library shelves. Admittedly, a few educationalists will argue that not all of online information is reliable as some may have inappropriate and misunderstanding content. Nonetheless, I truly think that if we know how to identify and select suitable online materials , it undoubtedly results in saving more time and efforts.

In conclusion, as I stated above, I firmly believe that the internet have had more positive impacts on our lives. This is because of its influence on the evolution of communication and information searching methods, leading to a cost-effective and advantageous society.