The importance of color in marketing

Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour.

How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

In recent years, color has been considered to be one of the most effective marketing strategies in many businesses. Besides the product quality, the color partly affects consumer choices when they want to buy something.

Through some market surveys, it is obvious that the company can increase profits by taking advantage of color, which affects buyer behavior in different ways. First, one must be aware that the color has a significant impact on the consumer's psychology. For example, in order to evoke the feeling of youthful and optimistic from shoppers, the company can design a trademark with a yellow background that catches many teenager's eyes. Second, in the competitive market, many manufacturers and retail companies use the color to increase brand recognition. Through color design, they can draw the consumer's attention, enhance consumer confidence, and clarify the characteristic of a product or service.

The use of color is a vital step in the process of creating an effective sales plan, but it cannot completely dominate the buyer's choice. Due to the difference in the personal economy, the budget is an inevitable factor that leads the consumer to buy a good. In fact, the shopper won't buy overpriced footwear, which they cannot afford although it has perfect color. In addition, cultural diversity has affected shopping habits from country to country. For instance, the females in West Bengal or Assam would prefer buying sarees as compared to Westerns.

In conclusion, the color is a critical component in advertising the product to the customer and make a good impression on the company brand.