Essay about the importance of spending money on the arts

public services are more important than arts

Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Many people believe that it is a waste of public money to finance art and cultural events, since there are more important issues to deal with. I do not agree with this idea, as I am persuaded that art is a fundamental part of human identity and a powerful mean of communication.

It is often claimed that art is useless and, therefore, not worthy to be spent much money on. The supporters of this view think that the government budget should be mainly allocated to public services such as health structures, food production and distribution and urban maintenance. In fact, these services are intended to address practical needs which are necessary to human survival.

In my opinion, it is undeniable that priority must be given to these relevant aspects of everyday life, but human beings require more than the mere satisfaction of primary needs. People need beauty in their lives and they need ways to communicate their feelings and abstract ideas. This is the main purpose of art, the reason why it has been practised since the origins of our species.

Moreover, promoting the artistic national heritage can be turned into an additional source of income, since most of the tourists visiting a country are attracted by its monuments and museums and they are likely to pay money to visit them.

In conclusion, I think it is important that a large amount of the government investment goes into public services in order to provide all the citizens with a good quality of life. However, the arts should not be forgotten because culture is vital to our soul as food is to our body.