Task 2 : Importance of studying history

To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

History has been a very useful and indispensable subject not only in the past but also in modern world. However, some people do not fully recognize or appreciate the important values of studying the past. In my opinion, history should be taught to every child because failing to do so will have adverse effects on our society as a whole.

Studying of history requires a lot of investigations and interpretations. As a result, it improves children's analytical skills. These skills allow them not to be easily deluded by media or other kinds of false information. Moreover, many situations we are facing in modern world can be explained from history. For instance, Indonesia and Pakistan conflicts that happened a few decades ago is still causing tensions between the two countries, making it hard for Asia region to be fully in peace. Last but not least, learning history makes people aware of the mistakes that had been committed in the past so that we can avoid them in the future. This basic idea of learning from the wrong doings is crucial in improving our society.

Our children are the leaders of our future. If they were not taught history, they would not know how our ancestors sacrificed themselves to build our nations and would not value their own country. For example, every child in Africa should learn about Nelson Mandela's courage and involvement in the fighting for freedom of speech so that they will appreciate the freedom they are having now. In other words, history is essential in nurturing patriotic citizens. Besides, if children did not have basic knowledge of how society of their own country changed over time, they would be vulnerable to culture attacks from the other countries which might lead to destruction of their country.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are many benefits studying history gives and therefore, we not only should make history a compulsory subject at schools but also should encourage children to explore more about it by themselves.