IELTS: Importance of studying History in school.

To some people studying the past has little value. Do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

These days, History has declared an optional subject. People do not like to study it, and only few select it willingly. However, in my opinion, History is an important subject for children to study.

For example, studying the past requires interrogations and interpretations. Such as if history of Ireland is to study, it is necessary to know Gaelic, an ancient Irish language. Therefore, it increases other skills along with the knowledge. Likewise, History includes the conflicts among different races and religions in the past. So, after knowing about how these conflicts happened and then sorted, they can be avoided in present days.

Moreover, studying the past explains most of the situations happening these days. Such as conflicts between India and Pakistan are still not resolved since 1947. As a result, this affects the peace attempts in Asia because both are powerful Asian countries, and they always try to attack each other.

Therefore, if children do not like studying history, they will lack lots of knowledge and skills. History teaches them the facts of life along with ranges of skills, since History provides them with the ability to analyse and judge the affairs of the past on their own. In addition, they also learn to research the facts and material through planning and judgement. Moreover, History also triggers an interest to study other subjects because they develop various skills that can be applied in those subjects.

In conclusion, I must say History should be a compulsory subject for children so they will know better about the world they live in. And, various techniques should use to make it an interesting subject.