IELTS TASK 2 - THE IMPORTANCE OF TAKING A JOB AFTER GRADUATED IN HIGH SCHOOL

Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Some people believe that it is essential for teenagers to have a pause for taking a job in some years before entering academic education in university. Even though this case has some drawbacks, I extremely believe that working after passing school is so useful and helping school leavers to develop their characters.

There are some negative effects for having a job for a period of time between school and university. Firstly, young people lose their time and are left behind when they work since the university students start their lesson immediately and master them first. As the result, working teenagers have less progress than them. In addition, taking job can reduce the opportunities for having a better occupation since they have a gap of time for choose sooner.

On the other hand, working immediately after graduated from school can bring more advantages. Initially, teenagers can have more time to prepare their lessons before enter the university since usually they do not understand the important concept of some subject when they were in the high school. Another benefit is people become more independent and having more experiences in working field. Therefore, teenagers will have a better characters and soft skills which cannot be obtained in formal education.

To conclude, having job directly after passing high school can bring some drawbacks such as having less progress and reducing their opportunities. However, I would argue that this case give them understanding about the value of life and develop their characters.