The importance of utilizing advisement globally continues to increase each year

Today the high sales of popular onsumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of utilizing advisement globally continues to increase year after year. Throughout history, business sector uses various mass media to reach the general population for profit. It is agreed that the power of advertisement caused more sales to popular produce rather than focusing on the needs of people. This argument is proven by looking at how advisement both compels human decision in purchasing and influence perception to norms.

Firstly, the use of mass media to advertise is an exclusive tool that undoubtedly influences the behavior and decision making of consumer to a particular product. For example, Samsung have sold millions of mobile units especially to its newly release Note 3 using various advertising strategies and showcasing its latest features. The mentioned mobile company have clearly captured the attention of its consumer, leading its advertisement to a successful purchase. Thus, ads play a crucial role in convincing the public's mind.

In addition to this, advertisers can manipulate the perception of an individual to what is acceptable in the society resulting to unnecessary purchase of goods. For instance, many citizens in the Philippines patronize whitening products as advertised in television and billboards endorsed by models with naturally white or fair skin. This clearly illustrates that the perceived beauty in the Philippine society have changed, with an excessive number of skin care consumers believed that having white or fair complexion is more attractive. It is apparent that through ads in mass media it could significantly change a persons perception.

following this look at how the power of advertisement influences a consumer decision- making and perception to norms, it has been proven that using ads as strategies causes people to spend based on features and not investing for the basic needs of human. Thus, it is recommended to the general populace to not be deceived by the mass media.