IELTS- It's important to address root causes in order to reduce criminal activities!

In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many different opinions on ways to decline in crime. People in favour of modern ideas claim that we need to fight with the causes of the crime. On the other hand, law-abiding society believe that the criminals should be punished for theirs misdeeds.

First of all, small part of society can afford education for them. As a result, such people are limited in types of jobs and cannot apply for well-paid vacancies. This is clearly illustrated by the fact that most of crimes are committed by unemployed people without any education.

In addition, in any country of the world more and more people are facing with inability to find work and that causes poverty. People need to satisfy their basic needs and low income and thirst for better life becomes the breeding grounds for crime.

On the other side of argument, punishment should fit the crime and if there is trend in increasing of offenders, then more severe punishments should be used. For most criminals prison is deterrent and fear of corporal and capital punishment can also help to prevent crime.

Moreover, public retribution is not enough for citizens to sleep safely at night. More police can support discipline outside and reduce criminal rates.

In conclusion, poverty reduction and making education more accessible are good steps forward. But strict control about law execution and fair punishments also need to take place. It's important to understand that everyone should have a good chance in life and the evil burn evil.