Important information should be shared freely. Yes or no?

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Sharing information

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Information has been a key issue nowadays due to its power. The one who keeps in hand the largest amount is eventually considered to be the most powerful. This leads to a debatable question: whether we should spread freely all the information or keep it in private for the sake of peace and power. In this essay, I will try my best to give a general view of both sides.

These days, people are claiming that sharing information creates educational communities. Living anywhere, global citizens can learn from others and can give away what they know. Balancing the world of information, this stimulates creativity and competitiveness, especially among the youths. Young people will then create new ideas, keeping up and enhancing the innovation. This, undoubtedly, leads to a better world. After all, everyone deserves to be aware of what is going on around them. Huge impact can come from the smallest pack of data.

On the other hand, spreading information freely can lead to potential danger. Indeed, those who have anti - ethical purposes can also learn the information and utilize it to fulfil their own aim. For example, terrorists are the ones we should keep an eye on as the threats they make may result in great loss, which we have already witnessed from the past. Thus, this explains partly why there are opinions stating that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. The less information can reach those who have such intention, the safer, they believe, the world is.

To conclude, debatable as it seems, the question can not be answered in the exact right way. However, in my opinion, I would take the side and say that information should be shared freely. I believe in the rapid progress humanity will make if this move is set, and dangers can slowly be pushed away.