IELTS TASK 2: imported food trend.  Why is this?  Is it positive or negative?

Today's food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Imported food is becoming more and more common in daily life. There are various reasons for this trend, which will be introduced in this essay. While the process of importing food can be harmful to some extent, I take the view that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

The main reasons of imported food are demands, globalisation and technology advancement. It is evident that supplies are fuelled by demands. Different types of food overseas are required by consumers. Globalisation and technology improvements facilitate this process. There are less trade barriers under global businesses and air shipping accelerates the logistics.

It is undeniable that imported food is detrimental to the environment. The increasing fossil fuel used for shipping is a significant cause of global warming. It is crucial to minimise the unnecessary pollution generated by transporting food for thousands of miles.

There are, however, more advantages of imported food. The diversity of food is proliferated. People have more choices to buy international products rather than to consume only the local one. It is considerably convenient for people to enjoy off-season fruits and vegetables. For example, by importing, tropical fruits and vegetables are available to consumers who are in winter. Apart from that, materials which are only produced in certain area become assessable around the world. For example, consumers now are able to purchase Thai curry paste in supermarket and cook Thai cuisine. Lastly, the trend of importing food promotes national economy of countries who export. Exported food can be a major industry in some nations. Employments are promising due to the need of labour as well. Take Columbia as an example, profits generated from coffee accounts for a great proportion of GDP.

In conclusion, imported food becomes prevalent for reasons. Though there is a negative effect of transporting food over a long distance, I believe the benefits exceed the drawbacks.