IELTS essay task 2 Imprisonment vs education as a solution to crime

In many countries, imprisonment is the most common solution to crime, however, some people believe that better education will be more effective solution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether imprisonment should be the primary punishment for crime. Some people think that an improvement in education can serve as a better alternative to incarceration. I disagree with this view for several reasons.

First of all, there is not scientific proof that clearly shows the correlation between person's education and the crimes he or she committed. I believe that, given the circumstances and the right conditions, everyone educated or not is capable of committing crime. Furthermore, first-degree felonies must be punished exclusively by imprisonment because these people are a danger to society.

The fact that punishment should follow crime is another reason why a better education is not a better solution to crime. Education would simply be considered as a reward and more crime would follow. It is the fear of imprisonment that in most cases keeps people from conducting criminal activities. It is for this reason that various times are set for criminals to serve in the prison. During this time, convicted people have a chance to reevaluate the wrong they have done in the past and redeem themselves.

Moreover, prisons nowadays are well-equipped with infrastructure, such as libraries, for example. Therefore, if convicted wish to improve their education, they can always find an access to various educational resources. With the development of technology and internet, they can even attend universities through an online distance-learning.

In conclusion, although an education could be seen as a better alternative to incarceration, I believe criminals can only be corrected through the means of imprisonment. In such way, public would be more safe, and convicted would be more prepared to enter the society. Therefore, imprisonment is a better solution to crime than education.