To improve road safety, it is not enough to punish more harshly those who violate the law

Improving the road safety

Task 2: The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It Is true that stricter punishments are necessary which can reduce the danger from drunk drivers or many motorists. However, I strongly disagree that this is the only way to improve road safety because there are substituted measures which would also be useful.

I believe that there are some other rules that we can launch to protect our life on the road. To be clear, stricter punishments should be hardened, and it will be effective because everybody is afraid of those punishments. For example, drive motorbike while you are drunk, it is prohibited and should be banned from driving at least six months. The reason that there are hundreds of accidents which were caused by drunk people in the last months and those disasters always cam with the consequences many innocent people died and caused trauma for the society. People who travel on the road cannot feel safe any moment, because if they are not careful, they can be killed by a crazy driver or a drunk vehicle.

Moreover, there are other steps which can improve road safety. Firstly, installing a speed camera is a necessary thing that a nation should do. For example, we can catch all the road crimes who drive over-speed or specific prove for investigation. Many authorities around the world have adopted this very cost-effective measure. Secondly, traffic calming measures have succeeded in reducing the number of accidents.

In conclusion, to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.