How to improve road safety? Are punishments too lenient?

harsher driving penalties

The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, the issues about enhancing road safety have never ceased to draw the attentions from public. One of the most common method is stricter punishments on motorists. While I argue that this tendency will deter many traffic participants from many accidents or dangerous situation, I concur that there are alternative ways for this trend.

On the one hand, it is crystal clear that these punishments will be act as a deterrent, so that it may make them think twice before commuting on the street. It could be recognized that the commuters breaking the regulations are seemed to be offenders. Hence, the host of laws should be applied to the participants such as heavy fines, revoking driving licenses... The letter of the law must be used as an optimal way as well as banning perpetrators from the road so they will be no longer danger to road users, including pedestrians. For example, in Singapore, people who drive while intoxicated should be served a prison sentence for the above reasons

Besides some tough penalties for offenders are imposed by government agency, there are other steps to tackle with issues related to road safety. First and foremost, setting speed cameras in the traffic lights location make a contribution to improving the awareness of offenders. Many countries have paid off about applying this method. Secondly, it is necessary to adopt a policy of conducting regular vehicle inspections to avoid accidents caused by mechanical malfunction. Eventually, some campaigns about disadvantages such as overspeed or no use helmet.

In conclusion it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.