Improving standards of living of developing countries through education?

12. Education is the single most important factor in the development of a developing country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Passport to Ielts)

I cannot totally agree that education is the only way for developing countries to improve their standards of living. Undoubtedly, education plays a crucial role both in the society and in the economy of any country. However, there are also several aspects which influence on development of the third world countries.

A lot of economists and scientist claim that economical and social well-being of any state depend on education, rooting out corruption, state of peace and good diplomatic relations with other countries.

In my opinion, education is not able to help to solve all problems facing developing countries, as demonstrated by republics of former Soviet Union or in other words Commonwealth of Independent States . Almost 99 per cent of adult and working-age population is literate and numerate. Former Soviet Republics have got the best system of education in the world. Students at school are broadly educated and the curriculums both at school and universities are very rich. Addition, there are world famous universities such as Lomonosov University, MIFI whose graduates are Nobel laureates. Nevertheless, one of the highest educational standards , most population of these countries hardly make ends meet and the minimum subsistence level is low.

In my view, that the main hindrance in developing Countries of Commonwealth of Independent States economies of is corruption. Moreover, some countries of these Republics are at war which also prevents their progress in the economy.

To summarize, education is a key factor which can stimulate the development of any country but at the same time there must be any wars, corruption must be uprooted, and good diplomatic relations must be settled.